bait vs lure

Hello,

I'm new to bass fishing (just started to fish this year) and I want to ask for everyone's opinion on live bait vs. lure.

I've been doing a lot of reading and almost every website swears that live bait always beat lure anytime.

If you are agree to this, can you tell me:
1. What kind of live bait do you use? nightcrawler? minnow? shinner?
2. where do you buy them?
3. how do you rig them?

P.S: I've been using plastic worm so far this year... my favorite is... you can guess it from my screen name.

Thanks in advance,

Best

Watermelon.senko
Well, my opinion is if your are using live bait, it ain't bass fishing.

Most Bass Anglers use lures because live bait isn't permitted in tournaments.
I think you would do well with night crawlers to start. Nothing wrong with fishing live bait and occasionally I do too. It's a good way to learn. You are right about live bait being high on a bass's diet. Live bait has it's own fishing method too.
I'd pick up some night crawler worms from local shop or coyote bait and tackle and give them a try. If you want help for ways to rig the live crawler I can help with that.
Im a newb here as well so far all my fish that i have caught( only 3 worth notice) have been using senkos or other types of soft bait worms
Thank you for all the feedback guys!! greatly appreciated.
I have to agree with Peacheater, although when I take my 8yr. old son fishing I get him some night crawlers, so I also think they are good for beginner bass fishing, My self I no longer use live bait. I prefer soft plastics, but have started to use spinner baits, crank baits, and jerk baits, I would recommend trying a robo worm rigged drop shot style. This set up has been very productive for me at catching quality fish at local ponds and lakes. Good luck