Forebay 11/27,11/28

Out on the water both days at sunrise. Pretty damn cold. Topwater was so so both days. first day only brought one 22" fish to the boat. Hooked a couple more but lost them. Second day had a fish destroy one of the center split ring on my Vixen. Totally ruined, took the hook with him. I'm kinda new to striper fishing but dang they fight hard. And they don't stop even after in the boat. It's not easy removing three trebles out of a fish who won't stop fighting. About two week ago I caught 8 stripers at the forebay, had a fish flop aroung in the boat and got all the hooks stuck in my shoelaces. Dude, had to cut my laces off. A lot of people fishing with minnows caught their limits. The bite definatly shuts down fast.
A lot of fish slapping at the topwater baits, any ideas?
Does any body know where to find Largemouth out there?
So many shallow flats...
I find Largemouth on the channel breaks a lot with the dropshot this time of year.
kinda figured, drop shot had to come in to play somewhere. probably a better place to largemouth fish during spawn. Thanks man
Right on man, sounds like you fun out there. Â :) Got to love that striper fight!

I know what you mean about the hooks in the shoe laces. I once had a hook on my lace for like 4 months. finally got it out at a hook remover booth at the fishing expo. ;D
Quote:
kinda figured, drop shot had to come in to play somewhere. Â probably a better place to largemouth fish during spawn. Â Thanks man
To be honest. I think that early Fall is my favorite time because there is still a lot weeds left and the fish are really aggressive too because of all the bait that comes up shallow. The number one reason for me though is the weather. In Spring there is just so much wind that it's too hard to fish and the water get's churned up!
There is a good population of bass in the forebay. By what I have seen there are some 10+ Bass in there, you just have to find them.