Will the fish still be alive?

It's my first time to see the fish snapping my line.
I was using a 8lb p-line linked to 15lb braid and the p-line snapped just about landing the fish.
I eyeballed about a 2 pounder.
The line broke above the hook and it might still be hooked on its mouth with a 3/16oz drop shot weight.
;| I feel so guilty and worried if it would cause any fetal effect to the bass.
Should be , usually the hook in the lip it will become loose in time if the bass feeding hanging round the rocks it might open up the hole and fall out ,
I believe the fish will be fine.. I caught a fish once that had line coming directly out of the back of the bass's throat!! It was pretty amazing. The line was still sticking out about three feet pass it's closed jaw. She must of broke someone off and started passing the hook. I cut the line as far back I could and let her go.. I've also have caught a fish that was in the process of passing a hook it was coming out of the shitter area ( don't know the right word! Lol) fish was healthy as could be. Like almaden said it will most likely come loose if it was in the lip!! And if not someone will catch it again someday and take it out for you. :)
Good to know. Thx!!
I feel much better now.
Now you'll be able to sleep tonight without having a nightmare about a bass with a hook in it's mouth trying to hook you!! Lol
yeah! :D
The bass power is way beyond my imagination.
It makes me wonder if it is fine to tie the d-shot rig directly to the 15lb braid without the leader.
amazonhunter wrote:
yeah! :D
The bass power is way beyond my imagination.
It makes me wonder if it is fine to tie the d-shot rig directly to the 15lb braid without the leader.

sounds like knot failure to me.........i personally use 6lb floro when dshotting